flute solo

Robert Morris

Program Notes

"Raudra" is the fourth of the nine rasa-s of Indian aesthetics: fury and anger.

In 1981 Raudra was recommended as a "work of exceptional merit" by the "New Music Panel" of the National Flute Association. The composition also won the "Newly Published composition Award" of the same organization in 1994. Raudra has been chosen as a competition piece in the National Flute Association's 1995 flute competition and the 1999 International Pappatsaukis Flute Competition.

Raudra is recorded by Robert Dick on Attacka Compact Disks, Babel 9158-1 and by Yvonne Chavez Hansbough on Fanfare Publications, CD 00022-1.